April 24 Writer Birthdays

1804 – Cho Koran, Japanese poet, artist, and educator, known for her study of Chinese arts and specialization in bunjinga ink paintings, and for founding a private school for teaching Chinese poetry to women.

1815 – Anthony Trollope, popular Victorian-era novelist, known for books set in fictional Barsetshire.

1845 – Carl Spitteler, Nobel Prize-winning Swiss poet who also wrote as Carl Felix Tandem.

1862 – A.C. Benson, English essayist, poet, author and educator.

1900 – Elizabeth Goudge, English author of novels and children’s books.

1905 – Robert Penn Warren, American novelist and poet; winner of three Pulitzer Prizes; the only person ever to have won for both poetry and prose. Best known for his novel All the King’s Men, ranked by Modern Library as the 36th greatest novel of the 20th century.

1908 – George Oppen, American poet and Pulitzer Prize winner.

1911 – Evaline Ness, Caldecott Medal-winning children’s book author and illustrator.

1923 – Doris Burn, American children’s book author and Illustrator.

1924 – Sir Clement Freud, German-born English writer, politician, broadcaster, and chef, known for the children’s book Grimble; grandson of psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud. He married June Flewett, who was C.S. Lewis’s inspiration for the character Lucy in the Chronicles of Narnia.

1924 – Nora Bustamante Luciani, Venezuelan physician, historian, writer, and intellectual.

1934 – Shirley MacLaine, Oscar and Emmy Award-winning American actress, and author of new-age autobiographies; her brother is actor/director Warren Beatty.

1939 – Brian Garfield, American novelist, nonfiction writer, and screenwriter who has also used pen names Brian Wynne and Frank Wynne.

1940 – Sue Grafton, bestselling American novelist known especially for her “alphabet mysteries.”

1953 – Eric Bogosian, playwright and novelist.

1970 – Simone Elkeles, author of teen romances.

1973 – Rula Jebreal, Israeli-Italian journalist, foreign policy analyst, journalist, novelist, nonfiction author, and screenwriter.

1973 – Damon Lindelof, screenwriter and producer best known as head writer for the TV show Lost and as writer of Star Trek Into Darkness.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: